Friday fun linkpile

If this doesn’t warm your heart – and get you calling your friends in Southland – I don’t know what would. Volunteer tandem rider(s) needed so that a visually-impaired chap can get out for a ride. You’d totally want it if it was you, right?

Cycling’s doing great things for the British economy, not least by the fact that it’s up 28%.

Here’s this. I want it. It’s a self-inflating tyre. Imagine not having to pump up your tyres again! Choice. Especially cos I nearly spent lots of money on a floor pump today, but then I didn’t.

I’ve had my eye on these stylish riding raincoats for a while now, and it’s good to see an independent review. If I ever stop being a student I’ll probably buy one.

OK so I’ve leaned pretty heavily on the Guardian for this week’s linkpile, but to be fair, they’ve go a lot of good stuff this week. Including a look at why Cambridge is such a great cycling town.

Bikes that Treehugger wants RIGHT NOW. How about that Epitaph bike!

Enjoy your weekend, everyone. And remember to make those Southland calls.

Image: Ode aan de Fiets Frans Kokshoorn The Hague Vondelstraat. By Brbbl (Own work) [GFDL or CC-BY-SA-3.0-2.5-2.0-1.0], via Wikimedia Commons

2 thoughts on “Friday fun linkpile

  1. I lived in Cambridge for seven years; it was the most cycle-friendly place I’ve ever been in an English-speaking country. One thing that the article didn’t mention is that Cambridge is flat as a pancake, and is in the middle of some beautiful countryside; so it was quite easy to take the long way home on a Friday, and do a quick 15 miles through some beautiful South Cambridgeshire villages on the way home of an evening. A lovely city, and a great place to live.

    Like

    1. I reckon there’s plenty of places in New Zealand that fit the ‘flat and beautiful’ criteria. I’d like to see more towns in this country picking up the baton.

      Like

Your comment

